When You Almost Miss Your Flight

My life is not boring. There’s always something interesting that happens, even if I’m doing something routine. When I woke up this morning, I had not anticipated almost missing my flight to Rome for the weekend.

I’m a travel noob. Traveling by bus and plane without my family is something I had begun doing this semester. I’m still not used to it. I’m used to being told what to do and where to go when it comes to transportation. That being said, I was flying with Ryanair for the first time and didn’t think that my carry-on would not fit in the cabin above me.

This was the first flight where I didn’t check my bag, but when I realized that it wouldn’t fit in the cabin, I only had so much time before the plane would start boarding. I rushed around the airport frantically and ended up asking a guard in Spanish where the check-in was. It was an interesting exchange because I didn’t know how to say check-in in Spanish and he was one of the first people I’ve met who didn’t speak English. He insisted that I ask him my question in Spanish, so I successfully did, even though I didn’t know the word for check-in.

The series of events that happened after this were so stressful I almost broke down in the airport. The check-in for Ryanair was the furthest away and almost seemed hidden. There was a long line and the lady who was helping me moved so slow. Seriously, I’ve never seen someone working move so slow in my life. She even left me in the middle of helping me to go help her friend at the counter next to her. I had to then go wait in another long line for the Ryanair desk so I could pay. This woman wasn’t as slow but she still wasn’t moving quickly, and I was running out of time.

Then I ended up running back to the check-in to get my sticker. Luckily I didn’t have to wait in line, but unfortunately I had to go back to the Ryanair desk that yet again had a long line. I stood in line and stared at my phone, the gate was going to close in 5 minutes. I knew I’d be in line for more than 5 minutes and started to get very anxious. The guy in front of me could tell, since he had seen me run up to the desk to ask to get my boarding pass stamped, so he let me cut him in line. I forgot to add that the woman would not stamp my boarding pass, so I had to wait in the long line.

The whole time, I kept repeating in my head, “God makes miracles happen.” It calmed me down enough until they opened another area at the Ryanair desk and I shortly stamped my boarding pass. I was late by at least five minutes. I ran as fast as I could to my gate and luckily there was a long line of people boarding the plane, even though they were supposed to close a long time ago. I made it. I got to go to Rome, and I thanked God because I knew this was a miracle.

This wasn’t the first time I almost missed something. In Portugal a month ago I almost my bus back to Spain and had to argue with the bus driver. I think I learned my lesson though.

Leave a Reply

