Celebrating Thanksgiving in Spain

You don’t need to be in the United States to have a thankful heart, nor does only one day have to be set aside for being thankful. I was surprised to hear that Spain doesn’t have their own version of Thanksgiving, even on another day of the year. However, it really isn’t the day itself that matters, but rather the sentiment behind it. Being thankful is something you have the power to do wherever you are in the world.

This was my first Thanksgiving that I didn’t celebrate at home. It didn’t feel like Thanksgiving without the meal, the Macy’s parade, and being with my family, but this year I experienced a new kind of Thanksgiving. Yesterday, my program took us out to Tony Roma’s, where we ate a non-traditional Thanksgiving dinner of salad, nachos, ribs, french fries, and carrot cake. It may not have been traditional food, but it was still delicious! Today, I got to go out with my friends to an Italian restaurant called Gino’s. We sat around talking, laughing, and having a good time.  I couldn’t ask for a better way to spend my Thanksgiving away from home.

I’m thankful for the friends I’ve made here, for my program that has taken good care of us, for this opportunity to be abroad and travel around Europe, and I’m very thankful for everyone that is waiting for me back home that I’ll get to see in a few weeks. Happy Thanksgiving, everyone!

Leave a Reply

