Going to the Movies in Nantes

In the past two to three weeks, I have gone to the movies four times.  I never go that often back home.  I never went when I was in Spain.  However, it was something I wanted to experience while being abroad.  There are a decent amount of American movies in foreign theaters as opposed to foreign films in American theaters.  Every movie I have seen in Nantes, as well as the one time I went while I was in Marseille, was an American movie.  All of them but one were dubbed in French. The most recent movie I saw, Divergente 3: au-delà du mur also as known as Allegiant in the U.S., was shown in English with French subtitles.  I knew that some theaters abroad provided showings in English with subtitles of movies.  To be honest, I don’t really know how that works, if there is some kind of schedule that tells you what kind of showing they will have.

Is going to the movies in Nantes cheaper than in the United States?

No, not necessarily.  Student discounts are very useful.  If you are going to the Gaumont theater in Nantes and you are a student, bring your card with you.  The staff will check it as you are purchasing your ticket.  If you do not have the card then they most likely will not give you the discount.  Tickets are normally 11€ but with your student ID you will only have to pay 7,50€.  When I was in Spain, I had heard that there was a certain day of the week where movie tickets were cheaper for the whole day. I don’t know if this is true in Nantes.  I haven’t heard anything.

Just like in the U.S., the theater will try to take your money by way of selling food.  They do offer tiny pints of ice cream, salted popcorn, M&Ms and other candies, and popcorn sucré which probably means kettle corn.  I have brought super cookies from La Mie Câline into the theater and have eaten them during the movie.  If you have a bag, it will get checked before you go over to the area with all the theaters, but I have never been given a hard time for having a super cookie in my purse.  I don’t make it obvious that I have one, but I am pretty sure they see it when they check my bag.

One thing that I find different from the United States is that previews seem to drag on. Like I said, I do not really go to the movies back home, but previews don’t seem long compared to what I have sat threw here.  When I saw Allegiant, the movie was supposed to start at 1:45 but that was when the previews started.  The movie itself started at 2:06.  Previews in the U.S. are long but I don’t know if they are that long.

I cannot believe it is already halfway through March!  More than half of my semester is over and I know the rest of it will go by even quicker.  Stay tuned for more posts about my experiences abroad and travel advice!

Leave a Reply

