My Top Places to Study in Nantes

With finals week coming up, I thought this would be an appropriate post to write. It was a little bit hard for some of my friends and I to find places to study when we wanted a change of atmosphere. Some people are really accustomed to working in coffee shops. When you are in a new area, it can take a while to find the places you will end up frequenting. Here are some places I have gone to when I wanted to do homework outside of my homestay:

Stratto

20160424_124351.jpg

Stratto is an Italian restaurant in the Commerce area with pasta, pizza, sandwiches, and many options for pastries. Although their food is not the best, it is cheap and there is free wifi. What is nice about Stratto is there is a lot of room once you go up to the second floor (known as the first floor in Europe) and third floor. There are outlets where you can charge your laptop so you can basically spend the day there if you wanted to. Now that the weather is warmer, you can also buy gelato! But be careful, you get a little bit for a larger fee.

Ô Bistrot

20160406_104031

A little café I passed every day at Lamoricière/Edit de Nantes while going to school but never really noticed until my friend brought me there. It has become one of our favorite spots to study with a nice view on the second floor if you like to people watch. It has a calm atmosphere with artwork that you can purchase. The guy who runs the place is very nice and has gotten to know us. There aren’t many options on the menu, but I usually go to study and drink tea.

Columbus Café

20160419_173156.jpg

My new favorite study spot! They have a wide variety of delicious-looking muffins and, of course, hot drinks. It took my friend and I all semester to discover this place because it is easy to miss when you are in Commerce. There are two floors and lots of space to do work. Like the other spots I mentioned, there is free wifi and spots where you can charge your laptop if need be. Coming here makes me feel like I am back in the States.

Soon-to-be Starbucks

20160424_140710.jpg

While I myself am not a huge Starbucks consumer, I know there are people in my program who would be very happy if this place were finished sometime before we leave Nantes. It is conveniently placed in Commerce right next to the tramlines. If you are considering visiting or studying here, you may be in luck. This is the only Starbucks I have seen here and it isn’t even finished yet.

2 thoughts on “My Top Places to Study in Nantes

Leave a Reply

