Do What You Love

Last month, while sitting in church, I had told the congregation that I was going to be taking the GRE. I said that I was worried about the test, but even more importantly, about my future because I do not know exactly what I want to do after college. The man standing at the pulpit, who was somewhere in his 60s, responded, “I’m 60 and I still don’t know what I want to do either.”

Why is it so hard to decide what career path we are going to choose? There are two kinds of people: those who tell us to follow our heart and do what we love in order to get fulfillment and others who put pressure on us to get a job that we may not love but will keep us financially stable.

Being a senior in college, I have only had a very small taste of the real world. However, there is something I have realized in the past year when I went abroad. You can already start to do what you love without it being your career.

I love writing and I enjoy helping others. I started this blog as a means to keep friends and family updated on my travels while I studied in Europe. After having returned to the United States, I still keep up with this blog for the purpose of helping those who will be going abroad themselves. I write about content that I wish I knew before going abroad, being the worrier that I am. I also have a YouTube channel that goes by the same name as this blog. There, I documented all my trips using foreign languages, and now I dedicate it to helping others learn languages.

What you love does not have to be successful for you to enjoy it. In a world where anyone can create a blog or make YouTube videos, getting subscribers is difficult and very competitive. Currently, I have a small following on both my blog and my YouTube channel compared to those who have thousands of followers, but that has not stopped me from creating content for the purpose of helping others. My goal is to help someone. If my blog or channel goes viral one day because of that, then so be it. If not, I am still happy that I am helping the small group of people subscribed to me.

It is important to live a life you enjoy. Being a college student can be both monotonous and overwhelming. I hear that the real world is worse. If you do not give yourself time to do what you love, whether it is volunteering, playing a sport, or making crafts, you will get burnt out and bored with life.

Winston Churchill once said, “Never give up on something that you can’t go a day without thinking about.” I am already doing what I want to do. I get fulfillment out of seeing how happy people get when they understand a difficult grammar concept in Spanish or French, or when they get excited rather than worry about traveling.

You too can start doing what you love.

2 thoughts on “Do What You Love

Leave a Reply

