Don’t Miss the Moment

So many people are living yesterday or dreaming about tomorrow that they miss the now. They’re thinking about going abroad or when they went abroad. They’re both wonderful things but don’t miss the here and now because what was got you to this moment and what is now will get you to that future moment that you’re dreaming about, so embrace the here and now and live it to its fullest.

Whenever people ask me if I miss being abroad, I tell them that I do, but only a little bit. The joy I receive from spending time with my loved ones and being in a familiar place outweighs that negative feeling of missing the life I lived a year ago. I looked forward to being abroad in anticipation of what was going to be. Now that I’ve done it, I have fantastic memories. However I also have my life at this moment (friends, classes). The life that you live is going on. Remember that the life you’re living now is preparation for what will be. Enjoy the moment, including the painful ones because they are lessons. 

While I was away, I missed home very much. I missed my family, my friends, my school, and especially my significant other. Homesickness is real and I don’t like when people try to make those who feel homesick bad for feeling that way. Despite feeling homesick, I did not let that paralyze me to the point of not having fun and making Skype calls home every day for hours on end. I counted myself as fortunate to be able to travel around Europe and live the dream I had been wanting to live for years. I took advantage of my opportunity. It was worth it and I would never take that experience back. What I normally tell people when they ask me how I feel is, “I was happy in Europe and I am happy at home. I am happy wherever I am.” The last thing I want people to think is that I was unhappy going abroad.

Be happy wherever you are. Live the life you want to live with what you have around you. Count the blessings in your life. If times are tough, remember that they are just lessons for you to learn and without them, you would not be the person you are today. Without the good and bad moments in life, you would not have gotten to this point. Most importantly, do not spend your life wishing away the present moment for something you are excited for in the future. Embrace now. Live now.

3 thoughts on “Don’t Miss the Moment

  1. Hey,

    I just wanted to let you know how much I’ve been enjoying reading your blog since I found it…the photography and all of your posts are beautiful, and I’m loving each one I read. I hope you don’t mind but I wanted to nominate you for a blogger recognition award, because your blog is beautiful. It involves a little challenge of naming your favourite 15 bloggers, but all of the details are in my post here: https://ecstaticallyem.wordpress.com/2017/01/27/blogger-recognition-award-2017/
    I can’t wait for more of your posts, because they’re truly inspiring!

    Em x

    Like

    1. Thank you very much! I am at a loss for words! I’m so happy that you are enjoying what you read as well as the photography. It’s nice to know that they have touched someone.

      Like

Leave a Reply

