Duolingo Challenge | 2 Months of Polish Update

Cześć!

This summer, I’ve decided to challenge myself to learn as much Polish as I can, only using Duolingo. After having studied Polish for two months, here is where I am at:

The Duolingo community has been wonderful during this challenge! Language-learners encourage each other and share what they have been learning through weekly updates on the website forum. The Polish community has also been extremely encouraging during this 90 day challenge. I am honestly blown away by everyone’s enthusiasm and kindness.

During the first month of this challenge, I knew so little Polish that I didn’t even know how to say “hello.” I learned so much vocabulary and how to conjugate verbs in the present tense. Although there wasn’t an explicit explanation in the Duolingo app, I was able to figure out some patterns throughout the exercises.

However, as the lessons got more difficult during the second month and more vocabulary was being thrown at me, I decided that I would only try to remember what words were relevant to topics that I talked about in my daily life (ex. remembering the verb “to do” as opposed to the verb “to sell”). My note-taking got much more relaxed and my motivation went down a little bit since starting the challenge, since I am only using one resource. I would not recommend limiting yourself to only one resource when learning a language. I am only doing this for the challenge, out of curiosity. Even so, I am happy with the progress I have made in two months.

I am really looking forward to finishing up the tree during this third month, getting a good grasp on the past tense and being able to remember more vocabulary, and being able to surprise my grandma by speaking to her in Polish!

Leave a Reply

